Kansas residents are required to have a certain level of car insurance coverage in place by law. Bodily injury liability coverage is mandatory in Kansas. This type of insurance protects the occupants of the other vehicle involved in an accident and pays for medical bills, rehabilitation services and lost wages.
The state has determined that a driver must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage to pay for the injuries sustained by a single person in an accident where you are the at-fault driver. At least $50,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries of all victims in an single accident must also be put in place.
Property damage liability coverage must also be put in place. The minimum level of coverage required is $10,000. This part of the policy is used to pay for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any property damaged in the accident, such as mail boxes, sign posts fences and sheds.
While customers in Kansas must buy the minimum level of coverage, they can choose to buy a higher level of protection if they wish. This is a good idea, since any damages owing once the policy limit has been reached must be paid by the at-fault driver personally. If the accident is a serious one, a policy with the minimum level of coverage required by law may not provide enough protection to pay for all damages incurred.