Kansas has adopted a no-fault system for car insurance purposes. A person who is injured in an an accident would look to his or her own insurance company to pay benefits. Under this type of system, an accident victim would have to meet a certain threshold before he or she would be able to sue for damages.
For this reason, Kansas car insurance buyers must have liability coverage in place. The minimum level of protection required by law is $25,000 for injuries sustained by one person in an accident and $50,000 to cover the damages incurred by all victims from the same accident. Along with the bodily injury liability coverage, at least $10,000 in property damage liability protection must be put in place.
Kansas also requires drivers to buy $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage. This policy provision provides protection when an accident is caused by a driver who does not have car insurance coverage in place.
A minimum of $50,000 in underinsured motorist coverage is also required in that state. As the name implies, this insurance kicks in when the at-fault driver has some insurance coverage in place but his or her policy does not fully cover the amount of the damage caused. The other driver’s policy would pay out first and then your underinsured motorist coverage would be used to make up the difference between the other policy and the amount owing for your injuries.