Hawaii is a no-fault state when it comes to car insurance. When an accident occurs, claims for injuries are handled by the individual’s own insurer. This method of resolving claims is easier and faster than involving the other driver’s car insurance company.
All drivers in Hawaii are required by have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in place. This portion of the policy is what will pay for medical bills and related expenses if an accident occurs. People who have a high level of benefits through their health insurance plan may want to limit their PIP coverage to the minimum level required by the state, while those who have no health insurance or limited coverage only may choose a higher level of protection.
If the level of injuries is severe enough, an injured person has the right to sue the at-fault driver to collect damages. Mandatory car insurance in Hawaii also includes bodily injury liability coverage to pay damages to occupants of the other vehicle following an accident. The minimum level of coverage is $20,000 for injuries sustained by a single victim and $40,000 to compensate all victims of the same accident.
Hawaii car insurance customers should consider the level of bodily injury liability insurance they have in place carefully, since they will be personally responsible for the amount of any damages not covered by their insurance policy.