Hawaii has adopted no-fault car insurance laws. A person who is injured in a car accident does not have the right to sue the at-fault driver unless the injuries are very serious. Instead, the driver’s own car insurance company is responsible paying for medical bills and related expenses.
Drivers in Hawaii are required to buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. This portion of the insurance policy is what pays for an injured person’s damages, and a driver has coverage up to the limit of the PIP coverage he or she chooses. The minimum amount of PIP coverage required is $10,000 to pay for medical bills of all occupants of the driver’s own vehicle. An individual can choose to buy a policy with a higher limit, if desired.
A driver can choose to add optional coverage to his or her policy to cover lost wages, funeral expenses and alternative health care services, such as acupuncture and naturopathic medicine. Death benefits of between $25,000-$100,000 may be added to the policy, if desired.
The PIP coverage doesn’t extend to physical damage to vehicles or property, the at-fault driver in an accident is responsible for paying for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s car. He or she must also pay for fixing any sign posts, mailboxes or other objects hit in the accident.