Most U.S. states do not follow a no fault auto insurance law. This system requires all motorists to carry Personal Injury Protection that will cover them, no matter who was at fault for the accident. The idea behind no fault insurance is that lawmakers believe it will speed up the process of getting claims covered and reduce costs associated with litigation.
What is the California Auto Insurance Law?
California requires drivers to carry policies with sufficient coverage for accidents they cause. In order to operate a motor vehicle, drivers must demonstrate that they have the means to pay for damages they may cause. Residents do not need to buy coverage to protect themselves in this case. California auto insurance law states that motorists must carry at least $15,000 for bodily injury (up to $30,000 to cover two people), and $5,000 to cover property damage. The California Dept of Motor Vehicles must be notified of a new insurance policy.
Am I Covered?
It is important to note that state minimum liability limits are quite low, compared to the actual cost of medical care and vehicle repair. For instance, an individual causing $20,000 in damage to another vehicle would be expected to pay $15,000 out-of-pocket and the California auto insurance provider would only pay $5,000. Therefore, it is important to buy added coverage to be sure you won’t be hit with unanticipated expenses.
Recommendations For California Auto Insurance
Promiga offers free online auto insurance quotes from trusted partners with A+ ratings. Our system is easy to navigate and guarantees low rates, not to mention saved time. Even though you won’t find California no fault auto insurance, you can still get a great deal by entering your local zip code and searching policy offers from big name insurers like Progressive and GEICO.