Illinois Car Insurance Minimum Coverage Requirements

In Illinois, drivers are required to have car insurance in place. The minimum level of car insurance coverage mandated by law is $20,000 in bodily injury liability insurance for one person’s injuries and $40,000 to pay for the injuries of all people hurt in a single accident.

Along with the bodily injury insurance, drivers must have $15,000 in place for property damage coverage to pay for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any other objects damaged in the accident. This part of the policy is used to pay for repairing fences, mailboxes, signs, etc.

Along with the liability coverage, drivers must also buy uninsured motorist bodily injury insurance. This protects a driver, his or her family members and passengers in the vehicle if the at-fault driver in an accident doesn’t have insurance coverage. It pays for medical bills and lost wages, as well as funeral expenses if the accident results in one or more fatalities. At least $20,000 in uninsured motorist coverage is required for one person’s injuries and the cap is$40,000 for more than one person injured in the same accident.

These amounts are only the minimum levels of coverage required by law; a person can choose to buy a higher level of coverage if desired.

Leave a Reply