In Illinois, auto insurance buyers must have at least a minimum level of uninsured motorist coverage in place, along with the standard bodily injury liability coverage. Under state law, a minimum of $20,000 to cover injuries you or a single person in your vehicle sustain as the result of an accident involving a person who doesn’t have insurance coverage must be obtained. The limit for multiple victims in an accident involving an uninsured driver is $40,000.
Since Illinois is a tort state, someone must be found at fault before insurance companies will start paying out for damages. In a case where the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance, you would have to sue him or her to get compensation for your medical bills, lost wages and other expenses incurred as a result of the accident. A person who can’t pay for insurance probably doesn’t have the means to pay for damages, either.
For this reason, the state has stepped in to help by mandating that uninsured driver coverage be mandatory. If you choose to buy more uninsured motorist coverage than the minimum level required, you may also need to purchase underinsured motorist coverage as well. This type of policy tops up the coverage in a situation where the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough coverage to adequately compensate you for your loss after an accident.