State laws on auto insurance vary quite considerably. Before taking to the road, drivers are advised to contact their regular insurance carrier or their local Department of Motor Vehicles to establish the minimum level of cover required for their region.
Drivers are required to carry proof of liability insurance and this must be presented in the event of an accident. Policy holders will usually be issued an insurance card to keep in their vehicles at all times. It is illegal to drive without insurance in Idaho and adequate cover must be obtained before using a vehicle on a public road.
Minimum liability requirements of auto insurance in Idaho are 20/15/50. This translates to a policy that has the following coverage:
- $25,000 per injured person and death
- $15,000 to cover any property damage
- $50,000 for all victims of an accident
There are also additional types of auto insurance available in Idaho which can include additional liability cover, collision insurance, GAP insurance, comprehensive cover and protection against underinsured or uninsured motorists.
The 20/15/50 levels of insurance cover are the absolute minimum requirements for driving a vehicle on a public road in Idaho. For transient motorists passing through the state, it is important to make sure that an auto insurance policy has a broadening contingency.
In addition to having an auto insurance policy, drivers within Idaho also need to comply with other requirements. To register a vehicle, drivers will need to sign a statement certifying that the vehicle is insured by the Idaho Code to include sections 49-1229 and 49-117(18). Failure to do so may result in a penalty.
Further information regarding the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles can be found on their main website.