Idaho drivers are required to buy at least a minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage liability insurance coverage. Under state law, a customer must have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage for the injuries sustained by one person and $50,000 to pay for all medical bills and related expenses incurred by all victims of the same accident. Idaho law also directs that consumers must have a minimum of $15,000 in property damage liability coverage in place.
Most people driving in Idaho don’t have enough insurance coverage. While it may be tempting to buy only the minimum level required by law, this may not be enough to pay for the damages if the accident is a serious one. The insurance company will pay out up to the policy limit only, and any remaining damages are the responsibility of the at-fault driver personally.
The issuer of underinsured drivers also affects Idaho insurance customers in a different way. When an accident occurs and the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough insurance coverage to pay for the damages, it may be difficult for those people injured in the accident to collect the compensation they are entitled to.
Ideally, a customer should buy as much coverage as he or she can afford, including underinsured motorist coverage to make up the difference between an at-fault driver’s available coverage and the amount of damage payable.