Hawaii auto insurance customers are required to buy at least the minimum amount of insurance coverage mandated by state law. Hawaii is no-fault state for car insurance purposes, which means that injured people have their medical bills paid for by their own insurance company. The only time that an injured person has the right to sue is in the case of a very serious injury.
Since an at-fault driver can be sued under certain circumstances, a minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage must be kept in place. In Hawaii, at least $20,000 in coverage to pay for the damages incurred by an individual and $40,000 in coverage for the injuries of all victims must be purchased.
The question of how much Hawaii auto insurance to buy is a complicated one. The reason people buy car insurance is to protect their assets. If a person’s injuries are serious enough to meet the threshold allowing them to sue to damages, the minimum level of coverage may not fully pay for them. Any damages that are not covered by insurance must be paid by the individual personally.
Ideally, a car insurance customer should buy as much coverage as he or she can afford. Shopping around is the way to get the best rates on Hawaii auto insurance coverage, since premiums can vary greatly between companies.