At Promiga Auto Insurance Quotes, we specialize in bringing our customers some of the cheapest deals on the market by working alongside the best A-rated carriers in the business. As well as providing detailed coverage for 49 other states, Promiga operate in partnership with industry giants to bring Kentucky motorists the most competitive online auto insurance quotes available.
All of our premium quality carriers are licensed to operate in the Bluegrass State and each one specializes in offering road users the best possible coverage. Our extensive list of auto insurance providers can provide basic policies that meet minimum state requirements and every policy application can be individually tailored to meet your own specific requirements.
Kentucky motorists should always beware of the existence of minimum coverage requirements and state law requires all road users to carry the following levels of auto insurance:
- $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 worth of bodily injury liability per accident
- $10,000 worth of property damage liability
At the present time, there is no mandatory obligation to purchase personal injury protection or uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage although higher levels of auto insurance should always be considered as long as it is affordable to do so.
DUI/DWI Laws in Kentucky
Motorists with DUI/DWI convictions will inevitably find cheap auto insurance quotes more difficult to come by. The state of Kentucky takes these offences very seriously and there are a string of severe penalties in place for road users who are found to driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A DUI conviction will be considered if blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than 0.08% is registered. If a motorist is found to have a BAC of more than 0.15%, enhanced sentencing will apply.
First Offence – A first offence DUI/DWI conviction can result in 2 to 30 days of imprisonment, a mandatory 4 day sentence of imprisonment for aggravated DUI/DWI offences, fines of between $300 and $500, a license suspension of 30 to 120 days, enforced 90 day participation in a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program and community service for a period of 2 to 30 days.
Second Offence – A second offence DUI/DWI conviction can result in 7 days to 6 months of imprisonment, a mandatory 14 day sentence of imprisonment for aggravated DUI/DWI offences, fines of between $350 and $500, a license suspension of 12 to 18 months, enforced 1 year participation in a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program and community service for a period of 10 days to 6 months.
Third Offence – A third offence DUI/DWI conviction can result in 30 days to 1 year of imprisonment, a mandatory 60 day sentence of imprisonment for aggravated DUI/DWI offences, fines of between $500 and $1,000, a license suspension of 24 to 36 months, enforced 1 year participation in a drug or alcohol rehabilitation program and community service for a period of 10 days to 1 year.
Fourth Offence – A fourth offence DUI/DWI conviction will result in a felony. This will lead to a minimum 120 days of imprisonment, a mandatory 240 day sentence of imprisonment for aggravated DUI/DWI offences, fines of between $500 and $1,000 and a license suspension of 60 months.
The criteria for an aggravated DUI/DWI offence includes driving at speeds in excess of 30mph over the recognized limit, driving the wrong way on any highways with limited access, being at fault for an accident that results in injury or death to any third parties, having a BAC reading in excess of 0.18%, refusing a DUI/DWI test and carrying passengers under the age of 12 while intoxicated. Any DWI/DUI convictions will be registered with the Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicles and this will make auto insurance quotes more expensive in the future.
Distracted Driving Laws
At the present time, there is no legislation in place that completely outlaws the use of cell phones in Kentucky although there are a series of requirements that do actually limit usage amongst certain driving groups. Somewhat staggeringly, more than 50% of young drivers aged between 16 and 24 admitted to the use of cell phones for sending SMS messages while driving during recent polls. Of every five accidents that occur in Kentucky, four of them are caused by a driver being distracted. Statistics indicate that a road traffic accident is 23% more likely if a driver is using a cell phone to send text messages.
Kentucky House Bill 415 currently outlaws the use of cell phones for sending SMS messages while any driver is in control of a motor vehicle. Additionally, school bus drivers and motorists under the age of18 may not use cell phones for making any calls whatsoever. A failure to adhere to these laws can result in stiff fines and a possible jail term, particularly if an accident occurs as a result of cell phone use. Any conviction for distracted driving will inevitably lead to difficulty in obtaining cheap auto insurance quotes in the future.
SR-22 Insurance in Kentucky
In most US states, any motorist convicted of a DUI/DWI offence or a distracted driving offence will need to have an SR-22 document filed with their local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This piece of paperwork is normally forwarded to the DMV by an insurance carrier once a policy has been purchased to provide proof of coverage. If a convicted driver allows a policy to lapse, the DMV will once again be notified with the use of a SR-26 document and the driver will need to provide new proof of insurance to continue driving or complete non-owner SR-22 paperwork until a vehicle is purchased.
The state of Kentucky is one of only six that do not require SR-22 Insurance documents to be filed with the local DMV. However, a resident of Kentucky must still comply with SR-22 requirements if they move to a state where these laws are in operation.
Teenage Driver Laws
The state of Kentucky uses the Graduated Teen Licensing system as a means of establishing safe and responsible driving habits for motorists over 16 years of age. A studious approach to driving will often result in friendlier car insurance quotes and the restrictions placed upon young drivers in Kentucky are significantly reducing the number of road traffic accidents where teenage motorists are involved.
All teenage drivers in Kentucky must hold a learner permit in order to gain detailed driving skills. A minimum of 60 hours of behind-the-wheel experience must be completed with a minimum of 10 hours being dedicated to driving at night. To obtain a learner permit, young drivers must meet the following criteria:
- Driver must be a minimum of 16 years of age
- Driver must pass a visual and written examination
- Driver must provide proof of age and a valid social security card
- Driver must have written permission to use a vehicle from a parent or legal guardian
Once the stipulations relating to a learner permit have been completed, young drivers will be eligible for an unrestricted license if they can successfully complete a road skills driving test and provide validity of vehicle registration and auto insurance. Drivers under the age of 18 who accumulate more than 7 points on their license for motoring infractions will be automatically suspended from driving. This figure rises to 12 points for motorists aged between 18 and 21.
How can Promiga help Convicted Motorists?
Because we only use A-rated insurance companies, we can provide auto insurance quotes for motorists in all high-risk groups. The reason? All of our providers have years of detailed experience in dealing with non-standard categories and every auto insurance quote offered by our partners are treated in terms of individual merit. This allows us to offer our competitively-priced online car insurance quotes in complete confidence.
Because we understand the difficulties that high-risk drivers will encounter when they obtain auto insurance quotes, we dedicate ourselves to making price comparison as simple a process as possible. Motorists are never expected to divulge personal information until they are in direct contact with one of our approved companies. All we require is a Kansas ZIP code and your auto insurance quotes can be provided in just a few short minutes.
Furthermore, all of the auto insurance quotes provided by Promiga are completely free of charge. We feel that high-risk drivers are penalized enough by the auto insurance rates that apply to non-standard categories and we never take a commission or fee from our growing list of satisfied customers. Best of all, there is never any obligation to make a purchase on any of our auto insurance quotes so potential polices can be reviewed without any high-pressure sales tactics or annoying phone calls from our representative companies.
As well as offering auto insurance quotes for high-risk drivers, our extensive list of partners also specialize in providing coverage for preferred and standard categories. As a result of our dedication to outstanding customer service and unbeatable car insurance deals, we fully believe that any motorist in Kentucky can find reduced auto insurance rates without compromising the type of coverage they actually need.