All auto insurance quotes provided in the state of Oregon have to comply with mandatory laws that dictate the levels of coverage each road user must have. Auto insurance companies must be licensed to operate in the area and all polices offered must meet the minimum requirements that came into effect in January 2010.
All motorists in Oregon are financial responsible for injuries caused to third party drivers and their property if they are deemed to be at fault in a road traffic accident. At the present time, all vehicle owners must carry $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 worth of bodily injury liability per accident and $20,000 worth of property damage liability.
The state of Oregon makes it compulsory for all motorists to be sufficiently covered against the actions of uninsured and underinsured motorists to a value of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. In addition, all road users must carry personal injury protection to a maximum limit of $15,000.
Oregon uses the Tort system as a means of regulating the auto insurance marketplace and this means that any driver found to be fault in an accident will be financial responsible for their own actions. This system differs to states where the no-fault method of auto insurance coverage is used. In no-fault states, all policyholders must claim on their own auto insurance coverage irrespective of which driver is deemed to be at fault when an accident actually occurs.