Vehicle owners in Georgia are required by law to have at least a certain level of insurance coverage in place. Under state law, they must have a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage in place to pay damages to an individual occupant of another vehicle. At least $50,000 in coverage must be bought to compensate all people injured in the same accident, no matter how many there are.
The bodily injury liability coverage is in place to pay for medical bills incurred by people injured in an accident. It also pays for expenses related to the accident, such as homemaking services or lawn care, needed following the event. A person who suffered a loss of income due to the accident can get compensation for lost wages.
Along with the bodily injury liability coverage required, Georgia requires owners to buy property damage liability coverage. This insurance pays for the cost of repairing the other driver’s vehicle following an accident. When the other vehicle has been totaled in the accident, this policy provision pays out the Blue Book value of the vehicle to its owner.
Rather than simply buying the minimum level of coverage required by law, Georgia residents should buy as much insurance as they need to protect their property. Comparing rates by getting quotes from more than one company is a good way for customers to avoid paying more than they should for their coverage.