Auto Insurance Laws vary from one state to the next, but having the right knowledge and information available can help you make solid decisions about the type of Florida auto insurance coverage you need. Auto insurance in Florida uses no-fault regulations as stipulated by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles.
The state of Florida requires minimal personal injury protection of $10,000. Irrespective of whether or not you caused an accident, you will always be covered up to the policy limit for injuries for yourself and your passengers. Auto insurance in Florida also requires property damage liability to a value of $10,000. This coverage pays for damage caused to another person’s vehicle or their property as the result of an accident that you are declared to have caused or are liable for.
The regulations for car insurance for Florida dictate that your insurance policy must be delivered by a company licensed by the Florida Department of Financial Services, and must be obtained by an agent or company licensed to provide that insurance. This means that you cannot maintain a policy that was previously issued to you in another state.
Without proper insurance, your driving license can be suspended until you obtain the proper coverage. Reinstatement fees would apply and can cost up to $150. By having a better understanding of some of the basic rules and regulations regarding car insurance for Florida, you should be able to avoid falling foul of the authorities at all times.