Educate Yourself About Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage

Before you can make a good decision about your Virginia auto insurance coverage, you need to understand exactly what you are buying.

Liability coverage is required in the state, and you need to buy at least $25,000 to pay for injuries and damages claimed by a single accident victim and $50,000 to pay for all injuries arising from the same accident. This part of the policy pays for claims made by the other driver and the occupants of his or her vehicle following an accident.

Property damage liability coverage pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s car as well as any public property damaged in the accident. It covers items like sheds, sidewalks, mailboxes, guardrails and sign posts. The minimum amount of coverage required under state law is $20,000.

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also required under state law. The minimum coverage limits are the same as for third party liability protection. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your medical bills and expenses when the at fault driver doesn’t have any insurance coverage. Underinsured motorist coverage works a bit differently: it comes into play when the at fault driver has coverage but he or she doesn’t have enough protection to fully pay for the damages caused.

Once you understand what your policy covers, you will find it much easier to get the right type and level of protection for your needs.