Every US state has a number of car insurance laws and road users in Connecticut should always be familiar with existing CT auto insurance regulations. Before a road user can register a vehicle in Connecticut, valid proof of auto insurance must be provided. This means that motorists have to purchase a policy that meets the minimum mandatory CT auto insurance requirements before registration plates can be issued.
Proof of a valid CT auto insurance policy must be kept in the vehicle at all times. The minimum amount of auto insurance required in Connecticut is $20,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $40,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident and $10,000 of property damage liability coverage.
This state also requires all drivers to purchase uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. The required amount of coverage for each of these is set at $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. This type of CT auto insurance is required if an uninsured or underinsured driver is found to be at fault for injuries sustained by the policyholder in a road traffic accident.
There is no legal requirement to purchase personal injury protection. This is an auto insurance feature that is more commonly associated with no-fault states. Connecticut follows the Tort system whereby individual motorists have to be financially responsible for their own driving actions. The best CT auto insurance deals can be found at Promiga and road users can obtain an unlimited amount of free on line car insurance quotes without any obligation to make a subsequent purchase.