Drivers in Colorado are required to have liability insurance coverage in place to operate a motor vehicle legally in that state. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for medical bills and expenses incurred by people who have been injured in an accident. Property damage liability coverage looks after the cost of repairing objects damaged in a collision, including the other driver’s vehicle.
The minimum amount of bodily injury liability insurance required is $25,000 for the injuries sustained by a single person hurt in an accident and $50,000 for injuries of multiple victims of the same accident. At least $15,000 in property damage liability coverage must be put in place to pay for repairing sign posts, fences, mailboxes, and the like.
Not all motor vehicles must be insured. Under Colorado law, the following don’t require insurance:
- All-terrain vehicles (ATVs)
- Private planes
Car insurance buyers in Colorado are not limited to buying only the minimum level of coverage mandated by law. They can choose to buy a policy with a higher limit if they wish and are able to afford it.
Ideally, a car insurance buyer will consider purchasing the highest level of coverage that he or she can afford. To find the best combination of a good level of coverage and affordable rates, considering coverage options from several providers is a good strategy.