Car insurance laws in the Beaver State are run using the Tort system. This means that after an accident with another vehicle, a driver will be deemed to be at fault depending on the circumstances surrounding the accident. The ‘at fault’ driver is then responsible for repairs to the vehicles of any third parties and any injuries sustained. There are a number of laws in Oregon that are unique and do not apply in any other state.
Oregon operates a 25/50/10 system where every driver has to have minimum liability insurance to value of $25,000 per person for bodily injury per person and $50,000 per accident. Drivers should also be covered for $10,000 worth of property damage.
Every policy has to include personal injury protection to the value of $15,000. $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of cover is also required to protect against uninsured and underinsured drivers.
Before registering a motor car in Oregon, you must certify that you have valid insurance cover. Oregon state insurance laws allow the DMV to select a vehicle at random and owners will be asked to produce verification of their insurance. The motorist will receive a letter asking them to provide proof of insurance and if this proof is not forthcoming, driving privileges are automatically suspended.
All drivers in Oregon must carry proof of registration, proof of insurance and a driving license at all times. While insurance companies are not legally expected to notify the DMV when there is a lapse in an insurance policy, drivers can expect to be served with a class A misdemeanor, a fine or a jail term when they are caught.