Car insurance in Missouri is applied using the Tort system. This means that accountability must be factored into an accident and all drivers must have the minimum level of auto insurance cover to drive a vehicle legally.
A minimum of $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person and $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident must be purchased. This is in addition to $10,000 worth of property damage cover. Additionally, the state of Missouri requires all drivers to have protection against uninsured and under insured motorists to a level of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Missouri also demands that prior to registering a vehicle, the owner must submit proof of financial responsibility. This can be in the form of a valid insurance card, a receipt indicating purchase information or the policy certificate itself. Drivers are also permitted to show a self-insured declaration card issued by the Missouri Department of Revenue or a financial responsibility ID card as a means of financial responsibility. Missouri law also gives motorists the opportunity to file surety bonds or other securities, such as a real estate bond, as evidence of self insurance. This can be used instead of having liability insurance.
As with any Tort state, one party must be held responsible for an accident. Most types of insurance are designed to cover drivers for any possibility and it is always recommended that motorists buy more than the minimum level of insurance to help cover higher costs.
Missouri laws state that if a driver is caught without insurance, it will result in the suspension of a driving license for up to one year. There is a reinstatement fee and proof of valid insurance must be carried for three years after the date of suspension.