Car insurance in Kentucky has mandatory minimum liability rules that all drivers must adhere to. It is illegal to drive without insurance in Kentucky. This means that the minimum liability insurance must be obtained before using the vehicle. If you are a new driver, or are new to Kentucky, check with the local DMV to establish full details of the required minimum level of cover.
It is obligatory that all Kentucky drivers carry liability and ‘no fault’ personal injury insurance. This protects drivers against any personal injury caused in the event of an accident with another vehicle. Drivers failing to comply with these laws can receive large penalties and possibly the loss of their driving privileges. The ‘no fault’ policy indicates that the insurance company will pay up to the $10,000 irrespective of who caused the accident.
The minimum requirements in Kentucky are 25/50/10. All drivers must have at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident and $10,000 of cover for property damage.
The insurance company will always notify the state that you have adequate insurance. However, it is the drivers’ responsibility to carry proof of insurance at all times. As with many other states, having a vehicle equipped with safety and security devices will help to reduce the cost of insurance premium. Keeping a good credit history can also determine how much an insurer will charge.
A poor driving record can also dictate whether insurers will charge more. If a driver has had speeding tickets, DUI’s or a string of accidents, there is a strong chance that they will be charged a great deal more for a policy.