Car insurance in Hawaii is based on the ‘no fault’ premise as opposed to the Tort system which operates in other states. Car insurance companies will pay for injuries up to the amount of personal injury coverage outlined in a policy regardless of who was at fault in an accident. Because the “no-fault” method holds nobody accountable for an accident, it means drivers cannot sue or be sued unless there is serious injury sustained.
This only applies to people and not to their vehicles or property. Any driver deemed to be at fault is responsible for paying for damages to vehicles or property and can be sued if they do not uphold their financial responsibilities.
All Hawaii drivers must meet the minimum obligations for personal injury and damage liability. Coverage has to have
- $20,000 per person of bodily injury liability cover
- $40,000 per accident of bodily injury liability cover
- $10,000 of property damage liability
- $10,000of personal injury protection or managed care cover
Drivers in Hawaii must carry proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. Failure to do so can result in a fine or other penalties with punishment becoming more severe for persistent offenders. In the event that a driver is caught failing without the mandatory level of insurance coverage on their vehicle, they are required to surrender their vehicle registration and license plates. These can be reinstated if proof of insurance is provided and any fees in connection with the offense have been paid.