Legislation regarding car insurance in Delaware includes some basic laws that are mandatory regardless of the state you live in. The minimum liability insurance is greater in some states than others and this should always be considered if you are driving outside of your own region.
Every Delaware driver is obliged to carry proof of liability insurance coverage in their vehicle and it is illegal to drive without insurance in Delaware. The minimum level of liability insurance must be purchased before registering a vehicle. If insurance on a vehicle is not purchased, you will be unable to register it with the DMV.
Laws in Delaware dictate that the minimum levels of liability coverage are obtained and this covers drivers if bodily harm is caused to others in the event of an accident. Liability coverage for the damage of property belonging to others is also required in the event of an accident at which you are found to be at fault.
Mandatory laws in Delaware require that all drivers have a minimum of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability cover. A $10,000 requirement for property damage also applies. This is in addition to $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident of personal injury protection as a mandatory requirement.
Delaware operates as a Tort state which means that if a driver is found to be at fault in an accident, they will be held responsible for all damages caused. Vehicles are randomly checked in Delaware for insurance coverage so expect to get stopped at some point.
Insurance companies are required to notify the state if coverage lapses. If a driver is found to be driving without adequate insurance, it could result in a fine, loss of registration or loss of license.