Under California law, drivers must have car insurance or demonstrate that they have the means to pay for damages inflicted during an accident. While you are always free to have more insurance in place than simply the minimum level of coverage, the legislation sets out the level of bodily injury liability insurance required.
The minimum level of coverage for one person injured in an accident is $15,000. At least $30,000 in bodily injury liability insurance for all people injured in a single accident must be bought.
The bodily injury liability coverage is used to pay for medical bills and expenses the injured person incurred as a result of the accident. Related expenses could include the cost of a wheelchair, brace or cane. If the injured person needs help with personal care or housekeeping, the bodily injury liability coverage pays for these expenses. It also pays for funeral costs, in the case of a fatal accident.
Along with bodily injury liability coverage, you must have at least $5,000 in property damage liability insurance in place. This coverage is used to pay for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as any fences, sign posts, buildings or sheds that were damaged in the accident.
When you are getting quotes for California car insurance coverage, keep in mind that you can ask for a higher level of protection than just the minimum required by law. You should consider buying as much protection as you can afford.