If you’re a road user in California, you may be wondering what the minimum California auto insurance requirement is. All vehicle owners throughout the state are legally bound to carry a policy, and proof of auto insurance should be available at all time for presentation to a law enforcement officer after accidents or during routine checks.
To ensure you meet the California auto insurance requirement for your vehicle, the following criteria need to be in place whenever your vehicle is parked or driven on state roads and highways:
- $30,000 worth of physical injury protection per person
- $15,000 worth of physical injury protection per accident
- $5,000 worth of property damage liability
Without the correct levels of cover in place, you run the risk of losing your vehicle registration, your driving privileges and, in some cases, your vehicle itself. If a car is parked on Californian roads and highways without the relevant amount of protection in place, the state reserves the right to remove your vehicle and in some cases, it could actually be destroyed.
To ensure you meet the California auto insurance requirement, always purchase your cover from a reputable resource that uses recognized carriers to provide their products. At Promiga, we only deal with the biggest names in the auto insurance marketplace to make sure you take to the roads with complete peace of mind. All of our online auto insurance quotes are free of charge, and there’s no need to worry about hidden fees, high-pressure sales tactics or annoying follow-up calls whenever you use our services.