If you’re about to purchase auto insurance and don’t know how much you need, it’s probably a good idea to build up your knowledge of California auto insurance limits. The purchase of a valid policy is a legal requirement throughout California and state law defines a series of mandatory levels that everybody must have as minimum coverage.
California auto insurance limits are determined at a 15/30/5 level, and relates to the no-fault system used throughout the state. In layman’s terms, this equates to $15,000 worth of personal injury liability, $30,000 worth of bodily injury liability per total accident and a further $5,000 worth of property damage liability.
When a claim is made, the California auto insurance limits defined on the policy indicate the maximum payout level. For example, a policy with the absolute minimum level of coverage will pay $15,000 towards your own injuries if any are sustained in an accident. Naturally, the minimum California auto insurance limits only serve as a base-level guide and road users can increase their protection at any stage.
As well as purchasing increased liability insurance, motorists can also make add-ons to a policy to protect themselves further. Many car owners, especially those with newer vehicles, enhance their California auto insurance limits with collision coverage and comprehensive insurance. These two policy additions serve to cover any other type of damage caused to a vehicle, including collisions with stationary objects, fire damage and hailstones. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage can also be added on to minimum California auto insurance limits.