California Auto Insurance Liability Limits for Drivers

California is a tort state for car insurance coverage purposes, which means injured people have the right to sue the driver who is deemed responsible for causing the accident for medical bills and other expenses incurred as a result of the accident. The state has set a minimum level of auto insurance liability coverage which vehicle owners must have in place and insurance companies must provide quotes reflecting at least this level of protection.

Bodily injury and property damage liability protection are required in the state. Bodily injury liability coverage pays for medical bills and other expenses incurred by the occupants of the other vehicle when an accident occurs. The minimum level amount of this type of protection required in the state is $15,00o to pay injuries sustained by one person and $30,000 for all injuries and damages of multiple victims resulting from the same accident. This part of the policy also pays out a funeral benefit if the accident caused one or more fatalities.

Property damage liability coverage is used to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle following the accident. It also pays for the cost to repair or replace public property damaged or destroyed in the accident. Items like guard rails, sidewalks, fences and light stands are covered under this policy provision. The minimum level of property damage liability protection required by law is $5,000.