California auto insurance law requires road users to carry a predefined minimum level of coverage. Failure to do so can result in the loss of vehicle registration, driving privileges and, in some cases, the vehicle itself. California has an ongoing problem with the number of uninsured and underinsured motorists using state roads and highways. Legislation has led to a tightening of California auto insurance law, and persistent offenders are now punished accordingly.
As far as minimum auto insurance requirements are concerned, vehicle owners must carry $30,000 worth of bodily injury protection per individual, $15,000 worth of bodily injury protection per accidents and a mandatory $5000 worth of property damage liability. These are the absolute minimum levels of protection required by California auto insurance Law, although road users obviously have the option to purchase increased coverage.
The costs associated with California auto insurance sees many road users avoiding a policy purchase and in turn, this makes protection more expensive for vehicle owners who abide by the letter of the law. Although this may seem unfair to the law-abiding citizens who pay for auto insurance coverage, the carriers have to recoup their money somewhere and unfortunately, it is the regular motorists who suffer most.
It is imperative that as many road users as possible adhere to California auto insurance Law. Until uninsured and underinsured motorist are filtered out of the system and disqualified from using their vehicles on a permanent basis, there is little chance of an immediate resolution to the problems that road-legal drivers face.