The Governor of Arizona, Jan Brewer, has enforced a new bill that requires AZ auto insurance to be verified. The drastic measures have come about as a result of the growing number of uninsured and underinsured motorists using Arizona state roads and highways. The measures are targeted at those with a record for persistent offending so those with an unblemished driving history should have little cause for concern.
Any motorist who has three or more violations for failing to provide proof of AZ car insurance within a three-year period will be the subject of a HB2224 bill. If stopped in a routine traffic check, eligible drivers must produce valid proof of coverage or lose their driving privileges with immediate effect. The driver’s license and registration plates will be withdrawn until proof of auto insurance has been supplied. Furthermore, a fine of between $500 and $1,000 will be applicable.
The Arizona Agents Alliance, which currently boasts more than 120 members who are licensed to operate within the state, welcomed the news with open arms. Uninsured and underinsured motorists cost the auto insurance industry millions of dollars every year and also increase the car insurance rates of drivers who choose to operate their vehicles legally.
Fines will be applied on an incremental basis. First-time offenders can expect a financial punishment at the lower end of the scale but those who insist on using their vehicles regularly without AZ car insurance coverage in place can expect to pay the maximum penalty for every violation.