North Carolina is a US state that operates by applying the Tort system in relation to automotive insurance cover. The Tort system effectively dictates that liability must be apportioned in the event of a road traffic accident and because of this, a minimum level of bodily injury liability becomes compulsory. Failure to carry adequate insurance in the Tar Heel state can result in the suspension of vehicle registration and offenders can also face civil fines up to a maximum of $150.
The minimum level of bodily injury liability in North Carolina is 30/60/25 and these requirements break down as follows:
- $30,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person
- $60,000 worth of bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 worth of property damage cover
In addition to liability insurance, it is also a state requirement that drivers purchase protection against uninsured or underinsured drivers. These requirements are strictly enforced by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles.
Although auto insurance in North Carolina is slightly lower in price than the national US average, it is still recommended that drivers shop around to achieve the best possible prices in order to find a genuine value-for-money insurance deal. Perhaps the most effective way of achieving this is to visit a price comparison website and there are a growing number of these resources available to all resident in North Carolina. As well as offering consumers the opportunity to compare the relative merits of different policies, price comparison websites also offer a number of options for motorists with a less-than-perfect driving history.