Auto Insurance in Kansas

Auto insurance in Kansas is operated using the “no fault” rule as opposed to many other states which use the Tort system. For drivers in Kansas, this means that an insurance policy will cover the costs of any injury claims that arise regardless of who caused an accident. Kansas drivers are required to carry two levels of coverage. The first one is liability and personal injury and the other is uninsured or underinsured insurance.

The minimum requirements for uninsured or underinsured policies are:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury

In Kansas, all drivers must have policies that cover $4,500 per person against any required medical expenses that arise as a result of an accident. A further $900 for every month of one whole year for disability or loss of income and $25 a day for ‘in-home’ services is also required. Additionally, in the event of a death due to a road traffic accident, it is obligatory to have $2,000 of cover for funeral costs and $4,500 to cover any rehabilitation charges.

Minimum legal insurance coverage requirements in Kansas are

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $10,000 per accident for property damage

Failure to provide proof of a valid and current insurance policy may result in penalties or the loss of driving privileges. There is no mandate laid out in Kansas to account for exact penalties and it all depends on the various jurisdictions that drivers are operating under. However, carrying the mandatory insurance is not only advisable but also in line with legal requirements.

Leave a Comment