If a driver in Indiana is pulled over by a law enforcement officer for a safety check or traffic violation, the law requires them to present their insurance card. Laws on auto Insurance in Indiana state that if a driver has to attend court for an accident or traffic violation, they should have their insurance card with them and be able to present it when required.
New policies taken out by drivers who are new to the state must have UM coverage (Uninsured Motorist). This also applies to young drivers taking out a first policy. Motorists can reject this type of coverage but they must declare it in writing and also be aware that it will cost them extra money if they are involved in an accident with an uninsured or under insured driver.
Minimum state UM requirements in Indiana is $25,000 of uninsured motorist bodily injury cover per person, $50,000 of underinsured motorist bodily injury cover per accident and $10,000 of uninsured motorist property damage cover.
The minimum state requirements for bodily injury liability are as follows:
- $25,000 injury or death of one person
- $50,000 injury or death of multiple persons
- $10,000 for property damage
There are also some very strict penalties in place throughout Indiana for driving without the correct insurance coverage. Driver’s licenses can be suspended for 90 days while persistent offenders can receive a suspension of up to one year. To have a driving license reinstated, the driver must pay a fee of $150 for a first offense, $225 for the second offense and $300 for any subsequent offenses. The driver must also present valid proof of current insurance before the license can be reinstated.