Residents looking to obtain auto insurance in Georgia are advised to remember that laws are slightly different to those applied in other states. It doesn’t vary a great deal but there are some tiny differences in Georgia state law that means drivers need to be up-to-date on their obligations.
It is mandatory that auto insurance companies provide all driver policy information to the Georgia Department of Revenue. The state of Georgia has a database which monitors all current policies. Drivers are welcome to visit the Departmental database to make certain that all the information held about them is correct.
In Georgia the minimum mandatory liability coverage is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 bodily injury to multiple persons and $25,000 for property damage coverage. While carrying proof of insurance is not compulsory in Georgia, it is strongly advised. Some Georgia-based insurance companies will not provide drivers with an insurance card automatically. Motorists should ask their insurer to provide one or make a copy of the policy details and carry those instead. This will also apply if driver is on journeys that takes them out of the state.
Georgia operates a penalty method in all cases of a policy lapsing. A lapse in Georgia is deemed to be ten days or more. Drivers are advised to keep policies current and to notify the state if they change insurance companies. In the case of a lapse in coverage, drivers will be fined $25. This will also ‘invalidate’ your registration so a fee of $60 is charged for reinstatement. Driving with a suspended registration is classed as a misdemeanor and drivers who do not comply with regulations could face additional fines or have their car impounded.