Road users looking to buy auto insurance FL should be aware of the basic mandatory requirements to be included on all policy purchases. Florida is a no-fault state and motorists involved in road accidents are required to make auto insurance claims through their own carrier instead of through the policy of a third party driver. This is relevant irrespective of which driver is at fault for the accident.
Personal injury protection is a basic requirement and all road users are expected to buy a minimum level of coverage to the value of $10,000. However, motorists who can afford to do so are advised to purchase higher levels of auto insurance. Personal injury protection covers the cost of all ‘reasonable and necessary’ medical costs if the policyholder is injured as the result of an accident.
When purchasing auto insurance FL, drivers still have an obligation to third party property and state law requires all policyholders to carry $10,000 worth of property damage liability coverage. Once again, consumers should consider purchasing higher levels of protection if it is affordable to do so. When reviewing on line auto insurance quotes, Florida motorists must remember to meet these minimum specified levels if they want to drive their vehicles legally.
There are no other mandatory obligations for Florida road users. Comprehensive insurance, collision coverage and protection against uninsured and underinsured motorists can be added on to a policy as additional features but state law does not require road users to purchase these levels of coverage on a compulsory basis.