Under state law, auto insurance coverage for Wyoming drivers must include third party liability coverage. The minimum level of required protection in the state is $50,000 for a single accident victim and $100,000 to pay for all injuries and damages stemming from the same accident. Property damage coverage of at least $20,000 must also be purchased.
Limiting the coverage limits to the minimum amount required by law may not provide a driver with enough protection to pay for damages caused in a serious accident. To get a better level of protection, many drivers in the state opt to buy a policy with a policy limit of $100,000 for one person’s injuries and $300,000 to pay for all injuries stemming from the same accident. Buying a policy with a property damage limit of $100,000 is also a popular choice for Wyoming auto insurance consumers.
Uninsured motorist coverage is not required in this state, but it is a good idea to consider putting it in place. This type of coverage will reimburse a policyholder and the occupants of his or her vehicle if the at-fault driver in an accident does not have insurance coverage. Many drivers choose to buy a policy with a $25,000 limit to pay for one person’s injuries and $50,000 to pay for all injuries following an accident.
Medical payments coverage is not required by the state. To protect themselves if an accident occurs, a number of drivers choose to buy a $5,000 insurance policy.