Arizona Minimum Auto Insurance Liability Requirements

All drivers in Arizona must comply with state minimum auto insurance liability requirements. The numbers for the minimum level of coverage are relatively low, and buying a policy which only meets this level of protection may not be high enough to fully protect a driver if the accident is a serious one.

There are two types of auto insurance liability protection required under AZ state law. Bodily injury liability insurance pays for the cost of personal injuries and economic losses stemming from an accident. This type of coverage, which pays for claims made by the occupants of the other vehicle, also pays out a funeral benefit in case the accident results in one or more deaths.

Property damage liability coverage is used to repair public property damaged or destroyed in the accident. It covers repair costs for items like fences, guard rails, buildings, sheds, sign posts, light stands and mail boxes. This part of the policy also pays for the cost of repairs to the other driver’s vehicle.

The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage required under state law is $15,000 to pay for injuries and damages sustained by a single accident victim and $30,000 to compensate all occupants of the other vehicle injured in the same accident. Property damage liability coverage of $10,000 or more must also be put in place to comply with state laws.