Arizona car insurance laws require that all vehicles are adequately covered before being taken onto the road. It is a minimum requirement in most states that every driver a minimum level of liability insurance cover in the event of a collision with another driver.
The minimum levels of liability insurance in Arizona are as follows:
- Drivers must have at least $15,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person in any one single accident
- Drivers must have at least $30,000 of bodily injury liability per accident to cover injuries sustained to two persons or more
- Drivers must have at least $10,000 of cover for destruction of property in any one accident
When insurance companies determine the cost of an Arizona auto insurance policy, they take certain criteria into account. They will usually establish how long you have been driving, the type of vehicle owned, your driving record and your credit score. Each of these is factored into the policy price and will increase or decrease the premium accordingly.
There are a number of factors which drivers can have some control over. These can include the coverage amount, the size of the deductible payable in the event of an accident and any optional coverage. The size of deductible will inevitably reduce or increase your policy price but, as a word of caution, you should only settle on a deductible that you can afford to pay if an accident occurs. If you fail to pay your deductible costs, the insurance company will not pay out on any accidents you claim for.
Getting an online quote from comparison sites is always advisable but make sure that any company you decide to use has a license to sell insurance in Arizona.