State laws on auto insurance vary considerably although a number of laws are maintained universally regardless of the state in question. Liability insurance is higher in some states than others and it is always advisable to check with the local Department of Motor Vehicles to establish the minimum level of liability coverage.
Drivers in Arizona are required to carry proof of liability insurance coverage pertaining to the vehicle being used. Policy holders will be issued with an insurance card which should be kept in the vehicle at all times. It is illegal to drive without insurance in Arizona.
It is important to note that under Arizona auto insurance law, failure to maintain a valid insurance policy can lead to the suspension of your vehicle registration. You could also have your driving license suspended or revoked. To reinstate these privileges, proof of financial responsibility must be filed by any future insurers and additional fees will usually apply.
The future proof requirement will be presented on a SR-22 form from your insurance company. Reinstatement of privileges can be expensive. Arizona auto insurance law requires the owner to carry the SR-22 for three years from the date of suspension.
Arizona insurance minimum requirements are rated at 15/30/10 under the existing tort system. This equates to the following levels of coverage:
- $15,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person in any one single accident.
- $30,000 of bodily injury liability per accident to cover injuries sustained to two persons or more
- $10,000 of cover for destruction of property in any one accident
These are the absolute basic and minimal requirements although collision coverage and protection against underinsured or uninsured drivers can be purchased as add-on features with most policies.