Oklahoma and Virginia car insurance buyers are required to have similar coverage levels in place to comply with their respective states’ financial responsibility laws. Each state operates under a tort system for car insurance purposes, which means that the driver who is deemed to be at fault for an accident is responsible for paying for the damages caused. Accident victims retain the right to sue the at-fault driver to get money for their injuries and economic losses incurred as a result of the accident.
In Oklahoma, all registered vehicles must carry at least $25,000 to compensate one person for personal injury claims following an at-fault accident and $50,000 to pay for all injuries and damages resulting from the same event. A minimum of $25,000 in property damage liability insurance to pay for repairs to the other driver’s vehicle and any other property damaged or destroyed in the accident must also be put in place.
Virginia auto insurance buyers are required to have a minimum of $25,000 to pay for injury claims made by one person injured in an accident and $50,000 to compensate all people injured in the same accident. The minimum level of property damage coverage required under state law is $20,000. This part of the policy is used to pay for damages to the other driver’s vehicle, as well as items such as fences, guard rails, sheds, buildings, sign posts and light stands.