Answering your Questions about Colorado Auto Insurance Quotes

When obtaining car insurance quotes in Colorado, motorists must purchase $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 worth of bodily injury liability per accident and $15,000 worth of property damage liability. It should be noted, however, that these are not typical figures and most motorists choose to increase their levels of insurance to allow for all eventualities.

[su_box title="We're an affiliate" style="bubbles" box_color="#51f35a" title_color="#098e15"]We hope you like our recommendations! Just so you know, we may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page. Thank you for using our links, it is much appreciated.[/su_box]

Typically, motorists in Colorado purchase $100,000 worth of bodily injury liability per person, $300,000 worth of bodily injury liability per accident and $100,000 worth of property damage liability. These figures represent the findings of the Allstate auto insurance group based on typical sales throughout the first half of 2010.

What laws apply if I am using a rental car?

There is no difference in the laws irrespective of whether a vehicle is privately owned or leased by a company. The basic minimum levels made mandatory by the state of Colorado still apply. Driving without sufficient coverage is illegal so it is important to study the finer details of any written agreement issued by the hire company. If coverage isn’t included as part of the package, auto insurance quotes can be found where protection is offered on a temporary basis.

I’m worried about the possibility of being involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. What laws apply in Colorado?

At the present time, it is not a legal requirement to purchased protection against uninsured or underinsured motorists. However, your insurance company has a legal obligation to offer you this type of coverage when they provide car insurance quotes. This will usually be presented at a level of $100,000 of coverage per person and $300,000 of coverage per accident.

How do I stand on medical payments?

There is no obligation to purchase personal injury protection or medical payment coverage although your insurer is expected to offer these additional features whenever auto insurance quotes have been issued. Collision coverage must also be offered and it is recommended that all motorists consider these options seriously at the time of a policy purchase.

I’m having difficulties adding a family member to my policy. Why is this happening?

Under Colorado state law, an insurance company is legally entitled to refuse right of coverage to family members for a variety of reasons. The family member may be currently suspended from driving, have a poor motoring record or they may simply be considered to be too high a risk. Unfortunately, this is a fairly common practice in Colorado but it is always worth considering auto insurance quotes from other companies if problems arise.

What happens if my insurance lapses?

A lapse in your policy will occur if payments are not met on time. Continuation of a policy will be based upon regular installments reaching your insurance provider on or before the due date. Lapses can result in higher premiums and this will be reflected in any future car insurance quotes.

Colorado state law restricts the cancelation of a policy during validity periods by carriers unless a driver has failed to make payments, has been suspended from driving or has been refused a vehicle title and registration.  This offers protection to motorists but if a policy is cancelled by the insured party, a surcharge of between 10% and 15% will usually apply.

My credit score is a little colorful. Will this affect my car insurance quotes?

Unfortunately, it will. State laws in Colorado allow credit histories to be used as a means of determining the product being offered to a consumer and the price they will be asked to pay. By paying other bills on time, a healthy credit score can be maintained and this will be reflected in any future auto insurance quotes.

What insurance laws apply in Colorado in relation to financial responsibility?

Colorado is a Tort state and has been since July 2003. This differs to the no-fault system where the pressures and costs associated with lengthy or expensive court cases are alleviated because motorists claim on their own policies for sustained injuries and property damage.

The Tort system requires one of the motorists involved in the accident to be held accountable and any subsequent claims for bodily injuries or damage to property are made through the insurance company of the at-fault party. This is one of the major reasons for increasing the levels of coverage on all car insurance quotes whenever it is possible to do so. Any shortfall in coverage will have to be met independently and this can often be incredibly expensive.

Similar Posts